Toronto: Aug 5th 1975 from Centennial Hill

Toronto! Home sweet home!

1975

When I was young and was growing up in the early 80’s, very little did I remember of Toronto. I remember the opening of malls like Woodbine Center because I used to use the TTC very frequently at that time. Mississauga back then was a mere few office buildings and just a “smaller” version of Square One existed. As a matter of fact, I remember my father and uncles telling me that the city used to end at Finch when he arrived in Canada, way back in 1969. 

Unfortunately my father wasn’t much of a camera person and didn’t capture the “growth” of our beloved city.  However, I encountered a photo over a website that captivated my attention. Being born and raised in Etobicoke, I just couldn’t resist the urge to share this, as it was clipped in Etobicoke. I’m sure there are many more prehistoric pictures of Toronto lingering out there, somewhere!

Someone had caught this moment of capturing the construction of the CN Tower while standing on top of Centennial Hill (A.K.A. Mount Garbage).  As you can see, the Toronto skyline back then was very bland back then. In this photo you can see that the formwork was still attached and it seemslike the lower dome portion of the CN Tower was being worked on. The two East Mall buildings (left side) are in their final construction stages as that brickwork is looking brand spanking new. If you ever drive south on the 427 recently you can view how much of the appearance of these condos have changed.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

1 Comment

Filed under History

One response to “Toronto: Aug 5th 1975 from Centennial Hill

  1. Salman Shahid Alvi

    It seems you love the city…..

    I see you haven’t posted for so long……lost interest or what???????

Leave a Reply

