Daily Prompt: This is Your Life

abstract-books_00354521

(From: Google Images)

“If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.”

I would certainly NOT read any book of such nature. Yes, curiosity does sway my verdict at times but to read my broadcasted future life is unfitting, not even a peek. What befell with me in the past is historic but to query the future doesn’t bind with me. Our life is portrayed as a movie so what’s the point of scrutinizing a movie where every microscopic detail has already been digested? The climax, the roller coaster rides, the ending, all the exhilaration would merely vaporize and these are assets of life that I would desire to experience physically.

There is no grander sensation of living life in the virtual world rather than a fantasy world of words. The emotion, passion, failure, success cannot be counterfeited to what you or I rivet from this life to the thrills a paperback.

Your thoughts?

27 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompt

27 responses to “Daily Prompt: This is Your Life

  1. raeme67

    I agree, would not want to read that!

  2. I’m not a believer in fate, but the past would make for an interesting read. What I’m trying to say is that if someone wrote a book about me, I’d definitely buy it. Hopefully at a discounted price. After all, it is about me…

  3. I feel the same way you do, you said it perfectly.

  4. I couldn’t read that book. I think the excitement of the things that happen in the future would be gone once they actually occurred.

  5. I wouldn’t read it, but I’d be really tempted to, I’ll have to lock it and bury the key 😛

  6. I’d definitely read the past. I have diaries since age 15, but I’m sure I left a lot of details. As for the future, I’d just read a little bit, for the sake of comfort. I’d love to know that I’ll be healthy and living a long life 🙂

  7. P.S. — This was an awesome post! Very well thought out and well written.

  8. I think I would agree! I would NOT read the book, however the book would taunt me forever and I would guess how long my life is based off the size of the book! LOL.

  9. I couldn’t agree with you more! My answer would be quite similar. I also on a random note love your writing style!

    • Thanks for such a warm compliment. I appreciate you taking time out and reading my blog. Do come again.

    • I agree Salman your writing style is so romantic and fluid in this wonderful short piece. I prefer shorter bits. As the one author said, I don’t have time to write a short letter so I’ll write a long one!! This is powerful & sweet. But if I had this book I’d read the romantic bits before falling asleep sometimes. Which would probably rewrite that future.

  10. Would I read the book of my life? I cannot possibly answer that…but I will think on it, for sure! Are “word worlds” as compelling as real ones? Yes definitely, paper characters can be as compelling as real ones largely when they draw on real life experience/emotion…

Leave a Reply

