Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn

waiting-in-line

(Image From: Google Images)

“Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.”

If there’s a value that I must boast about is my patience.

Over the years I’ve cultured that patience has imparted me to “wait, things will get better”, though at times my heart has contradicting sentiments. Regardless, I’ve always obeyed to preserve my composure so I don’t instigate any wrong verdicts by “jumping the gun.”

Patience is established effectively for people who have engrossed rough rides in life, from what I’ve experienced. The wait, the suffer; the torture has evolved me to become a very collected person. I won’t inflate details on what’s transpired in my life but I’m blessed that I have the ability to wait. Not lengthy enough that I’m tallied as “lazy”, but long enough to envision that a grander reward is at the end of the tunnel.

Although idling may dispirit you irrespective if it’s a personal/professional matter, one must keep his/her heart and mind waiting in expectancy that something enormous is at the finish line. Even if it’s a short-term standstill like halting in a grocery store lineup, where patience should be sold, you must refrain from showing any agitation. Volley your mind in different thoughts, grab a magazine and digest those derisory minutes that distinct you and the finish line.

After all, “All good things come to those who wait.”

Do you have patience?

44 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompt

44 responses to “Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn

  1. Hmmm patience. I think I do. I want things now, but other things can wait. I think being a writer you need patience. Days, weeks, months and sometimes years of drafting, editing. Hopefully it tastes sweeter in the end. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn – See a need … | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Nicely said. I have definitely tended to be harder on myself for quite sometime. Lately I have been touting my own horn much more and have been much happier all around. Thanks for sharing and stopping by my blog.

  4. “The wait, the suffer; the torture has evolved me to become a very collected person.” Well put, thanks for sharing!

  5. I have been developing patience, but at 50, I’d say that mine is still a work in progress. I have a great smile though.

  6. raeme67

    Not the most patient…I would be… if it would hurry up already!
    Come on patience! I’m still waiting!

  7. I’m either very patient or completely impatient, depending upon my mood. I try to buy off my impatience with a book or a magazine, but when I had a car, that wasn’t an option for dealing with dawdling drivers. . . .

  8. Patience….can you define? Haha. No, not one of my virtues, but I am working hard at it!

  9. I loved your grocery store reference. I was a cashier for a couple of years when I was younger, and people were so awful in that line…huffing and puffing, expecting you to have four arms or something.

    I channel most of my impatience inwardly, into challenging myself to get things done. I have worked on my patience with others a lot over the years, and now I am very calm in the outside world. I take my time and appreciate.

  10. Patience is a virtue! I am still working on my patience but I’ve gotten much better with it as the years roll out. Thanks for sharing!

  11. You hinted in your post about some hard times in your life. In my personal experience with significant loss I over time gained perspective about a lot of things. I consider them gifts. One of those gifts was patience, Really in the scheme of things what is five more minutes on the grocery store line when it comes down to it, right?
    Nice post…

  12. Thanks for the compliments. Patience truly is an asset in life.
    Do keep visiting…

  13. petit4chocolatier

    I am very patient unless I am helping someone else and want to make something they need right then because of necessity done for them yesterday. A different type of urgency 🙂

  14. Am I a patient? No, I’m not even ill.

  15. I used to be patient until I started moving a house and now it’s taking AGES! I need to find my patience again 😉

  16. I like St. Augustine: “the reward of patience is patience” – I can confirm this.
    Nice article!
    Tomas

  17. Patience is one of my least virtues! I always want things done quickly but somethings don’t just come quickly… so, I’ll have to wait impatiently!!

  18. Thank you for sharing this story with us, it´s kind of inspiring!

  19. Patience is something I struggle with! I want certain things, and I don’t want to have to wait for them… But yes, some things take time. One step at a time, I tell myself. But oh so much harder to practice than to preach! Thanks for sharing, and for following my blog! I am honored.

  20. I am learning it. It’s a very important quality!

  21. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com

    Hi Salman,superb post.Patience is a virtue happy are the ones who posses such blessing.In our times every one wants to rush thing without knowing the results.Glad to hear from you .Regards.jalal

  22. Patience is all I’ve got my friend, once that goes… Insanity will follow!

  23. I used to work as a Technical Support for a mobile phone company, and with this kind of job I had to be very very patient with everyone (customers, bosses, colleagues), including myself. 😀

Leave a Reply

