The Two Wheeled Monster

(Image Source: Google Images)

(Image Source: Google Images)

As life’s challenges continue to barrage my existence, I’m finally embracing the sedulous task of teaching my son to ride a bike.

If my flashbacks serve me right, I was 9 years old when I clutched the motility of coasting down sidewalks. I vividly remember my father nursing my every peddle and comforting me throughout the dreadful trek. You thought fishing required tolerance? This is truly a test of patience and you don’t apprehend it till your own bundle of joy ventures to echo history.

I know many parents would rather toss their kids on a field, where the fall would cause minimal affliction, but daddy destined to administer a different detour. Though the imagination of falling on rock hard concrete haunted my son, we remained confident and approached the two wheeled beast.

In the anticipation of generating “tears of happiness” from mommy, Maazin and I strolled down to the longest stretch of sidewalk and got to work. It was nerve racking for the little guy, as each peddle pendulated him like an intoxicated person walking on a straight line. Grasping the back of his seat in full support, I can feel the little bugger scramble to repress his weight as he meandered away. Feeling like a cheap tow, I told my son to control his body and scrutinize on reminding straight with his arms in full control. At that point I began to support him by the waist instead, as we both waddled away.

What’s a lesson without a little whining? Excuses, excuses. From the sun getting into his eyes to me picking the wrong day. He had more stories than Walt Disney! From onlookers in cars honking in support (I hope), to joggers smirking during their exertion; we were having a ball. “I remember those days,” muttered a elderly gentlemen as he snickered in sarcasm.

The waist support was more cogent as we chugged along and digested about 8 pit stops. Their were signs of rectification being broadcasted as fruits of labour seem to be pay off. He didn’t learn immediately but there was a fine distinction that Maazin seized the concept.

All of a sudden, I lost a step and let Maazin go! He coasted for a solid two meters till he lost his balance and halted with his feet. Excited, shocked and moved, I kissed him in joy and was proud that my boy conquered the prerequisites.

12 Comments

Filed under Advisory, Motivation, Parenting, Personal, Uncategorized

12 responses to “The Two Wheeled Monster

  1. This is going to sound crazy, but have you tried to teach Maazin on a grassy patch with a slight incline? It’s MUCH easier to teach kids how to get their balance first by going down a small hill. That way, they don’t have to think about pedaling at all. It’s just about balance and using their breaks! If they do fall, they fall onto grass — which isn’t nearly as painful as falling onto concrete. Once your child gets the balance/breaks thing down, then you can have him go to the street and add pedaling. We were able to do this in 1 day — all because someone suggested the grassy patch first. Something to consider if he isn’t already zipping around the neighborhood! 😉

  2. I’m now ready to try again with my nine year old. A girl with minimal interest in falling or trying. I will not give up and I’m encouraged by your post.

  3. You brave man. I still shudder to think about those days.

  4. Cherish these moments, they are so fleeting! Cute blog! 🙂

  5. You’ve put the scene right in front on one’s eyes, nice narration. I am pretty sure about it that you feel proud. I have a 3 year old daughter and every time she does something or as adult behave, I feel the same way as you felt.
    Loved it!

Leave a Reply

